A Fashionable Firing.

Je suis désolé for my silence ya’ll, I have been slightly preoccupied with horrible assignments, environments and people acupunctur-ing me with their dark clouds of insecurity (otherwise known as See you Next Tuesdays).

hate train

As we all know though, haters are always gonna hate, and I aint’ got the time to occupy a seat on that train.

Whilst trying to dodge bullets and rise above like the Mother Theresa/ free loving, care free- cool cat that I (barely) am, I have also been debating my views over the Bruce Jenner saga.

I have to take my hat off the her/him for choosing the ideal time to change his identity and turn his families world upside down. With the outburst of activism occurring everywhere, I guess it’s acceptable.

…stick with me!

Of course things needs to change. Of course white privilege is fucked, as is gender inequality and the stigma associated with ‘alternate’ sexualities. I talk about this stuff daily. I work with marginalised peoples because it’s where my passion lies.

But I’m only human. And if I were Kris Jenner, I wouldn’t be on Bruce’s praise train.

kris jenner

If I had been married to a man and had his babies, I absolutely would not be happy if he grew boobs!

Kris was filmed crying, saying she felt as though her relationship with Bruce was a lie— a horrendous, heart breaking experience. And the masses responded by taking the piss; deeming her selfish, uncaring etc etc.

Political correctness is clearly fashionable. And like all trends, it has its flaws.

In my opinion, there is nothing uglier than speaking to someone differently, altering what we do or do not discuss, or holding back from being our authentic selves, because of someones skin colour, sexuality, choice of shoes or religion.

honesty joke

I am lucky to be surrounded by friends of all colours and ‘subcultures’, because we have crossed paths, NOT because of their token ‘alternativeness’.

One of my cultured pals hails from Mumbai and attends mass weekly. We have been friends for six years and read each others minds… So much so that I can see just how hurt she gets when people filter the topics and language they use in her presence, to ensure they don’t ‘offend anyone’.

That, in my opinion, is way more offensive then joking about scrotums. THAT in my opinion, is discrimination.

Whilst awareness and open mindfulness is mandatory, unless I have Indigenous blood running through my veins, I do NOT fully understand everything my Indigenous students experience.

But, do you know what unites us? humour. innapropriate-ness. love. stress. shit. LIFE! The human experience… and most importantly, our honesty and ability to hold different opinions and still respect each other.

bali 2

Another political debacle is the discussion associated with the execution of the two criminals who smuggled illicit drugs into Indonesia, and were caught.

On the one hand, the way in which the case was managed was flawed. On the other, the men committed a crime and suffered the consequences. Whilst I think that there are other people more deserving of a firing squad, drugs do ruin peoples lives.

In other words, my opinion swims between that of a good citizen and devil child.

Now, I am not for one second categorising criminals with gay people, or suggesting that I am sickened by gender reassignment. I am for happiness, and most importantly, authenticity. 

bruce jenner

Because of this, I am very happy for Bruce, and the community of people ‘they’ have inspired. I also hope Kris can (in time) learn to accept what she cannot change.

I’m just getting over the ridiculous attempts at being perfect humans. Because no one is perfect, no one is God.

There is no such thing as ‘normal’. Therefore being ‘different’ is also an illusion. We are all individuals on the one planet. Lets cut the shit and be real; Make mistakes, ask questions and most of all love, cry, yell and LIVE without fearing hell.

In the mean time, Imma’ continue to shake off my own firing squad with as much whit, sarcasm and dirtiness as I want.

Happy Sunday! 

honesty 2

Author: Isabella M

6th year uni student Bhlr Comms ( Journalism)- graduated Bhlr behavioural sciences & counselling travel, food, wine, learning, laughing, yoga !